Latest News


Joe Johnston Elected AHFA Chair

The American Home Furnishings Alliance announces Joe Johnston, CEO of Johnston Casuals Furniture, North Wilkesboro, N.C., was elected 2023 Chair of the AHFA Board of Directors during the organization’s Annual Meeting and CEO Conference in Sea Island, Ga., November 3-6.

Johnston is joined on the Executive Committee by Nathan Cressman, Magnussen Home, Greensboro, N.C., first vice chair; and Andy Bray, Vanguard Furniture, Hickory, N.C., second vice chair. Roger Bland, president and CEO of Southern Motion, Pontotoc, Miss., continues on the Executive Committee as immediate past chair.

Executives named to new three-year terms on the AHFA Board of Directors include: Edward Audi, Stickley Furniture; Mark Franklin, Franklin Furniture; Sean O’Connor, Universal Furniture; Veronica Schnitzius, American Leather; Luke Simpson, Durham Furniture; and Henry Vanderminden IV, Telescope Casual Furniture.

Continuing on the board with terms expiring at the end of 2024 are: Steve Elton, Brown Jordan; Fred Henjes, Riverside Furniture; Steve Lehman, Smith Brothers of Berne; Neill Robinson, Legacy Classic | Modern Furniture; and Melinda Whittington, La-Z-Boy Inc.

Board members with terms expiring at the end of 2023 are Caroline Hipple, Norwalk Furniture; Jeremy Hoff, Hooker Furniture; Allan Palecek, Palecek; and Todd Wanek, Ashley Furniture Industries.

Eddie Massood, Massood Logistics, and Andrew Wright, Smith-Leonard, are the 2023 representatives on the board from AHFA’s Solution Partners division.